The Victorian brick built Church of St. Catherine’s was built in 1872 as a Chapel-Of-Ease to St. Laurence-In-Thanet Church, Ramsgate. Local people raised the money for this and the land was donated by the then, Vicar of St. Laurence Reverend G. W. Sicklemore.
The Church not only features the beautiful Victorian Stone work but also boasted three stunning stained glass windows at the East End and an Organ for good measure! Local farmer Ernest Philpott purchased and installed the original stained glass window in memory of his wife Catherine but these disappeared and still to this day, the whereabouts still remain a mystery.
In 1901 the Isle of Thanet Poor Law Union opened a children’s home in Manston and one of their orphans; Frank Sidney Smith, an artist painted a picture many years later from memory of Manston – this now hangs in St. Catherine’s – the Orphanage’s school later became the Village Hall.